« Back to Knowledge Base

Facebook Live Privacy Settings Overview

When streaming to Facebook Live, the privacy settings you can set for your live stream (such as "Public", "Friends" or "Only Me") are limited
by the privacy option selected when you logged in to your Facebook account in vMix for the first time.
 
vMix privacy set to Friends
 
In the above screenshot, the login is set to a maximum privacy setting of "Friends" which means if you subsequently create a stream and set the privacy to Public, since Friends is a smaller audience, Facebook will create the stream with that privacy setting instead.
 
To allow the stream to be public, change the option here to "Public"
 
You can also change this setting later in your Facebook App Settings.
To find the app settings, open Facebook in a web browser and click the arrow at the top right hand corner and then click Settings
 
 
From the left hand menu, click Business Integrations
 
Click the vMix icon and a window will appear that allows you to adjust the maximum privacy setting when using vMix:
 
It is recommended you set this option to Public which will allow you to select any privacy setting you like at the time the stream is created.
 

Last Updated: Wednesday, 27 June 2018 3:27:02 PM